Friday, February 23, 2024

Light the Spark in Elizabeth May’s To Cage a God

Share This Post

To Cage A God is the first book in a romantasy duology from Elizabeth May. It’s pitched as being for fans of Fourth Wing and Shadow and Bone. Now, I haven’t read Fourth Wing, but I can definitely see the Grishaverse connections. This is an Imperial Russian-inspired setting fueled by a ruthless political system. Magic—or godpower-–is only in the hands of the ruling class. Or, it was supposed to be. The sisters at the heart of this story also have gods in their bones; literally. And they are determined to set generations of wrongs to rights.

I struggled with this one at the start. Maybe I’m just out of practice reading fantasy (it has been a while) or maybe there were some growing pains in getting all of the pieces in place. There is a lot to learn. Our sisters, Sera and Galina, start separated from each other and the main setting of the story. It takes a few chapters to not only get them together, but to get them back into the thick of things. At the same time, the reader is learning names, locations, history, religion, a magic system… all the components of a new world. This is part of fantasy, I understand, but it did make me nervous about the rest of this journey.

To Cage a God Cover
To Cage a God Cover

I didn’t need to be. In fact, I was pleasantly surprised by how invested I became. Once the characters were more established and the plot was going, I was hooked. The scale is perfect. You aren’t thrown into a large, full-scale rebellion. It’s one city. One goal. At least, with our sisters it is. There are other rebels who have… other plans. And one of those rebels is very important. I said this was a romantasy, right? Enter Vitaly.

Vitaly… he’s an incredible romantic interest. Dangerous, charming, a bit of an asshole. A rebel leader with a passion for his cause, his people. And also: for one particular woman. The reader is introduced to Vitaly through Sera. Because they were together, once. This romance did not go the way I expected. At all. I really thought I had this one pegged. I assumed the tropes that were at play here. I have never been so happy to be wrong. I loved this romance. I don’t want to say any more about it, just, experience it.

Sera isn’t the only character with a romantic arc, though. Her sister Galina also finds someone of interest. Since it is in the official synopsis, I don’t think it’s a spoiler to say that it is the princess. It’s pretty hard to have a relationship when you’re lying about who you are. It’s even harder if you’re lying because you want to overthrow your crush’s mother. Vasilisa is a wonderful inversion of expectations. The princess, locked away. But so much more. One detail I really appreciated about her character is that May created a fantasy setting that does not erase disability. Again, I don’t want to say too much.

I really thought my fantasy era had run its course. I worried I wouldn’t be able to dive back in. But this book was exciting. It was adult, it was dark, it was compelling. I thought I knew exactly where it was going, but May did not take the easy road to drama. I can confidently say I will be reading the second book in this duology. I want to know where we go from here. I want to see this world and these relationships develop. Stick with it, it pays off.

To Cage A God arrives on shelves February 20, 2024 from DAW Books.

Photo courtesy of DAW Books 

Have strong thoughts about this piece you need to share? Or maybe there’s something else on your mind you’re wanting to talk about with fellow Fandomentals? Head on over to our Community server to join in the conversation!

Author

Latest Posts

Faeforge Academy: Episode 155 – Someone Might Notice That

That battle against the Slaad rages, and the group...

AQUA: Biodiversity in the Oceans is Clever and Fun

From The OP, Aqua: Biodiversity in the Oceans is a gorgeous tile laying game that provides endless variety and mods for all.

Commune With a God in Daryl Gregory’s Revelator

Confession: I was sleeping on this book. Revelator by...

Scrooge McDuck To Make Marvel Comics Debut This Summer With ‘Uncle $crooge And The Infinity Dime’

This June, Jason Aaron and a host of talented Disney comic book artists take the miserly Scrooge McDuck on a multiversal adventure

From the Vault: ‘Lupin the Third: The Castle of Cagliostro’

Lupin the III: The Castle of Cagliostro occupies a strange...

Marvel’s Voices Celebrates Mystique And Destiny This June In X-Men: The Wedding Special

Kieron Gillen reveals Mystique and Destiny’s never-before-told wedding in this year’s Marvel’s Voices: Pride one-shot—X-MEN: THE WEDDING SPECIAL #1.